Hong Kong International School Reviews (11)

Average Ratings

Overall 4.23
Facilities 4.50
Academics 3.83
Teachers 3.67
Sports 4.00
Music & Arts 3.83
Science & Tech 4.17

Reviewer Nationalities

American (3) British (1) Canadian (1)

How would you rate Hong Kong International School?

jonathan issac, 27/04/2024 @ 09:58:01
Relationship   Pupil

Facilities
Academics
Teachers
Sports
Music & Arts
Science
Overall

i love this school very much

cayla suh, 14/01/2024 @ 23:13:01
Relationship   Pupil

Facilities
Academics
Teachers
Sports
Music & Arts
Science
Overall

The education is good. We learn a lot. It also provides a lot of support if we need it.

Hyacinth, 22/08/2023 @ 01:31:51
Relationship   Ex Pupil

Facilities
Academics
Teachers
Sports
Music & Arts
Science
Overall

Went to school there as a kid. Really enjoyed the atmosphere.

Wesley, 19/08/2023 @ 04:02:51
Relationship   Ex Pupil

Facilities
Academics
Teachers
Sports
Music & Arts
Science
Overall

I was there several decades ago with my parents. Perhaps it is better now. We moved there from the USA and I entered high school in the middle of the school year. The courses were not the ones I had been taking. So the placement was bad. No one helped me. One of the teachers even joked about me not knowing the subject and using me as an "experimental control" subject for grading purposes. The aggressive Christian emphasis was quite obnoxious. They were Missouri Synod Lutherans. I remember well an assembly at the chapel where Christians and then Americans were asked to stand up, which left the many non-Americans and I assume also some non-Christians sitting down. I think if I had not been an American and nominally a Chrisitan, I would have been offended. However, some good came out of this experience, because I lost all interest in Christianity for many years. By the way, most of the students I liked were not Americans. The Americans tended to be the worst behaved. When I was allowed to return to the USA to an ordinary public high school, I was very grateful. I like Hong Kong very much. But I truly despise HKIS for the bad experience they provided for me. I do hope it's a better place now.

bing chilling, 01/06/2022 @ 12:50:32
Relationship   Other

Facilities
Academics
Teachers
Sports
Music & Arts
Science
Overall

Very great school, very powerful and social people. Curriculum is superior.

Chloe, 20/04/2021 @ 18:58:48
Relationship   Ex Pupil

Facilities
Academics
Teachers
Sports
Music & Arts
Science
Overall

I attended this school for seven years before moving into the American public school system. Academically this school is far behind the public schools in the US, and I was nearly two years behind in subjects such as math when I transferred. The teachers are incompetent and do not care about their student. Bullying runs rampant with teachers either turning a blind eye or joining in.

Reviews from Google

Recent reviews posted on Google.

Google logoRating: 

Claire Barry, 6 months ago


I attended HKIS almost throughout my whole school life, and honestly I could not ask for a better place to grow and learn. Everyone–teachers, students, staff, sports coaches–really help you thrive and make sure to help you grow as an individual, not just as a student. I've had the best years of my life here and look back fondly. It's really an absolutely amazing school, with challenging courses and so many opportunities. They focus on putting students first. Once again, it is a truly amazing school. If you have the chance, attend HKIS! You won't regret it :)

Google logoRating: 

Elijah Ferrin, 6 months ago


Great! This place is amazing, they have so many kind helpers and are very considerate

Google logoRating: 

Viktor Sjölinder, a year ago


Attended Grade 10 and 11 here. Great teachers and staff. Everyone had a very friendly and encouraging attitude. Will never forget the friends, teachers and experiences I had here.

Google logoRating: 

Jack Chung, 7 months ago


One of the best international schools in Hong Kong

Google logoRating: 

Haru Kim, 2 months ago


I've been in this school, I was bullied, but that wasn't the school's problem. Math, Chinese, and history might be a bit behind, but other then that, it's great

My Shortlist