Horizon Japan International School Reviews (8)

Average Ratings

Overall 3.83
Facilities 4.00
Academics 3.00
Teachers 4.33
Sports 3.33
Music & Arts 4.67
Science & Tech 3.00

Reviewer Nationalities

American (1) Indian (1) British (1)

How would you rate Horizon Japan International School?

A Parent, 09/06/2022 @ 20:11:45
Relationship   Parent

Facilities
Academics
Teachers
Sports
Music & Arts
Science
Overall

We had to move our son to another school as we were concerned the poor science curriculum was going to impact his future prospects. Good for humanities and arts. Teachers are generally dedicated but seem really unhappy with the management team resulting in very high turn over. School admin comes across as not very competent.

Rashid Dewal, 18/03/2022 @ 12:26:14
Relationship   Other

Facilities
Academics
Teachers
Sports
Music & Arts
Science
Overall

Google Gulen Movement Schools. Poor management, toxic environment. Tread carefully, do your research, much better schools in area.

AK, 05/02/2022 @ 14:33:09
Relationship   Parent

Facilities
Academics
Teachers
Sports
Music & Arts
Science
Overall

Fantastic small school - couldn't be happier with our choice. Keep up the good work HJIS!

Reviews from Google

Recent reviews posted on Google.

Google logoRating: 

Sodapop, 11 months ago


This school is a small community with great people. The teachers care about students. Bullying is uncommon and rarely a case of issue. Most students care about each other and has an amazing connection with each other. The school is a growing school but still has a huge campus. The campus is about 5-10 minutes away from Yokohama station which makes it very accessible. The surrounding environment is very calm and has a mixture of both nature and city. The curriculum is rigorous but enables students to be comfortable with the amount of workload for university and their future careers.

Google logoRating: 

Student-Enes Komuro, 8 months ago


My love and passion for HJIS is unmeasurable. Always a warm atmosphere where people treat each other like a family. It is such a huge opportunity for me to set foot on the amazingly beautiful campus and I will never ever take it for granted. Seriously, what a magical place!

Google logoRating: 

Student-David Ellis, 8 months ago


Hello, I am the number one Horizon fan in the world. It has been a long debated question in school communities, "what is the best learning environment?" You could say its Harvard, the universally acclaimed Oxford university, or even MIT. However, there is one sacred school that has been severely overlooked, and of course I am talking about....HJIS. People make up a great community that is so important to me that it may begin to sound like I am exaggerating, but believe me, I'm not. To me this school is the inverse of Sacred learning. instead of the old campus of Horizon being better, I think most true fan would agree that the new one is the best one followed closely by the weaker but still awesome original campus. Why would you put that much pressure on yourself when cleaver, underrated gems like this exist? I say explore the bottom of the barrel, never leave your comfort zone, settle for whatever you can get and you might just find that Horizon Japan International School is the greatest and the purest school of all time.

Google logoRating: 

Student-Emre Caglar, 8 months ago


As a student who goes to this school, I can say that I am really appreciative. We have wonderful teachers and faculties that are always there to help out. The school is an IB school which means it is "student centered." This really gives us students opportunities to be leaders. For example we can run our own after school clubs, awareness campaigns, and so on. The surrounding environment of the school is also really nice. After school, some students go to the park next door and chill. The campus is just a 7 minute walk from Yokohama station which makes it really convenient. I can also say that each school day is a new journey and excitement. Overall, HJIS is a wonderful place for learning and students love going to school here. They really make us students "life long learners."

Google logoRating: 

Db, 10 months ago


Brilliant school, my son loves it there ... facility is top notch, great location, tuition fees is good compared to other exhorbitant international schools. Teachers friendly are native English speakers ... lots of homework ! Focused education

My Shortlist