The British College of Gavà Reviews (17)

Average Ratings

Overall 4.70
Facilities 4.60
Academics 4.20
Teachers 4.40
Sports 4.27
Music & Arts 4.33
Science & Tech 4.20

Reviewer Nationalities

Portuguese (1) Filipino (1) Brazilian (1) French (3) American (1) British (3) Spanish (4) Polish (1)

How would you rate The British College of Gavà?

Laetitia, 22/07/2020 @ 07:44:48
Relationship   Parent

Facilities
Academics
Teachers
Sports
Music & Arts
Science
Overall

2 kids there, they are super happy to go to school everyday. Fantastic team of teachers, nice facilities with huge green playground.

Marina , 28/05/2020 @ 08:24:18
Relationship   Parent

Facilities
Academics
Teachers
Sports
Music & Arts
Science
Overall

Our children started attending BCG this year and we are very happy with our choice so far. Since the first visit, the school facilities have attracted our attention, with lots of green and open space. Now with the opening of their new building, the facilities are even more complete. Despite the large facilities it feels like a small school, where everyone knows each other by name, which contributed to my children quickly feeling welcomed and integrated. The dedication of the teachers with whom we had contact so far is also something we would like to highlight.

S Torrellas, 27/05/2020 @ 09:20:49
Relationship   Parent

Facilities
Academics
Teachers
Sports
Music & Arts
Science
Overall

Muy contento de la elección que hicimos en su día para la educación de nuestros hijos (hoy, 12 y 14 años). Estamos en el British College of Gavà desde su fundación y a día de hoy puedo decir que el colegio ha cubierto mis expectativas con nota: muy buen ambiente, excelentes instalaciones en un entorno espectacular, buenos profesores (algunos brillantes) y como consecuencia, buen nivel educativo. Y para mi, lo más importante: mis hijos van felices al colegio y están motivados. A día de hoy además contamos con el liderazgo de un Director contrastado que tiene las cosas claras y el colegio sigue mejorando cada día su equipo e instalaciones, siempre atento a las sugerencias de los padres. Felicidades Sr. Valverde.! Cumplió su promesa ...

Enric, 26/05/2020 @ 11:15:42
Relationship   Parent

Facilities
Academics
Teachers
Sports
Music & Arts
Science
Overall

School with modern and top facilities. What i like the most in the school is the nice atmosphere for the students and the close relation between school and parents. Inclusive school where each single student is considered as an individual and not as a number. Good balance between academic curriculum and values teaching. The teachers team is very professional and always ready to help.

Therry Noces, 26/05/2020 @ 09:46:49
Relationship   Parent

Facilities
Academics
Teachers
Sports
Music & Arts
Science
Overall

BCG deserves an overall 5 stars in terms of general efficiency and its commitment for the betterment of the school as well as the educational, moral and artistic level of the students. It is a small school yet it has a future towards to be one of the best schools.

Maria victoria, 25/05/2020 @ 19:50:19
Relationship   Parent

Facilities
Academics
Teachers
Sports
Music & Arts
Science
Overall

We live an expat life and when we decided to look for a school for our children, we considered the academic, sports, the space where the children would have there classes, the outside area to play, extra activities and the community of the school versus the students and the parents. We have four children enrolled from reception, primary and secondary and I love to see how the children learn with motivation, the fact that everyone knows each other, the teachers know the students by name even if they don't teach them. I am very pleased with the new principle. The schools premises have increased and offers everything the children need to persue there academic needs. The green, nature, where the school is surrounded is beautiful and gives them a sense of nature and freedom. I am very grateful that the school has a motivated staff/ teachers that have been able to give the students an excellent education standard during this covid crisis and the response from the school to this pandemic was quick, efficient and effective.

Anna, 25/05/2020 @ 18:41:19
Relationship   Parent

Facilities
Academics
Teachers
Sports
Music & Arts
Science
Overall

Excellent school with dedicated teachers, small classes and offering high quality teaching in fantastic natural surroundings. A school with an educational long-term vision aiming at educational excellence.

Nathalie, 25/05/2020 @ 11:25:17
Relationship   Parent

Facilities
Academics
Teachers
Sports
Music & Arts
Science
Overall

Dedicated teachers, who see the individual child and take concerns seriously. Diverse, interesting and open minded students and parents community. Everybody is welcomed with open arms. Amazing experience for our two children and us. And even more now with the Top facilities that the School has now.

Alejandro, 24/05/2020 @ 10:27:58
Relationship   Parent

Facilities
Academics
Teachers
Sports
Music & Arts
Science
Overall

Hola! Tenemos dos niños (Primary, Secondary) desde la fundación del Colegio. Escoger colegio para nuestros hijos es siempre una difícil decisión. "¿Cuál es el mejor colegio para mis hijos?" No todas las familias buscamos los mismo, y la elección del Colegio debería ser consecuente con el tipo de formación que queremos para ellos. A mi entender, los niños aprenden cuando se sienten felices y motivados. Y mis hijos lo están, y mucho. No es un colegio con muchas líneas, creo que, de hecho, tiene una sola en algunos cursos. Entiendo que es más fácil para un profe conocer bien a sus alumnos cuando son 20 en clase, lo que es una de las ventajas de este colegio respecto a los otros dos colegios internacionales que hay en el mismo área. Yo, personalmente, he descubierto las ventajas de un cole con un número reducido de alumnos. Hay un ambiente más familiar y todos se conocen (profesores, niños, familias...) lo que me asegura que los profes conocen bien a mis hijos. Se trata de un Colegio joven, que no nuevo. Evidentemente, cuando empezó hubo muchas cosas a mejorar y los padres tuvimos que creer en el proyecto. Los inicios nunca son fáciles y hay que realizar muchos ajustes. Eso hizo que algunas familias decidieran cambiar a sus hijos, pero vinieron otras nuevas. Como en todos los colegios internacionales, hay rotación de familias y profesores. Así que no hay la estabilidad de un colegio tradicional, lo que no quiere decir que no haya continuidad. A día de hoy, creo que puedo decir que el colegio ya tiene velocidad de crucero. El colegio se está consolidando rápidamente, porque se ha notado la mano del nuevo Director General y un Director académico estupendo, con objetivos claros. Además, estamos muy ilusionados con las nuevas instalaciones a inaugurar. Además de todo el espacio verde disponible, ahora los peques tendrán polideportivo, comedor y una biblioteca y laboratorio más grandes y mejor acondicionados. Le dijimos adiós a la carpa y los lavabos provisionales que estaban desde los inicios y creo no gustaban a nadie, así que entramos en otra etapa. Este último curso está siendo difícil por la crisis del COVID19 para todos, pero ha sido la prueba definitiva de cómo el colegio se ha consolidado. Se respondió inmediatamente desde el primer minuto y los niños siguieron las clases online de manera estructurada. Esto no se hace de un día para otro y sin un equipo de profesores motivado y con dominio de las herramientas de colaboración. No suelo escribir opiniones en foros, pero a raiz de un amigo que me comentó que había leído opiniones negativas respecto al BCG me decidí a escribir la mía. Espero haber podido ayudarte si la lees. Cuando buscaba cole para nuestros hijos leí muchas y la mayoría no me ayudaron. O bien eran o de padres enfadados por una mala experiencia, o eran opiniones demasiado favorables. Creo que lo mejor es descubrir las cosas por uno mismo, que es, al fin, lo que le digo a mis hijos que hagan.

Year 8 and 10 parent, 22/05/2020 @ 17:30:17
Relationship   Parent

Facilities
Academics
Teachers
Sports
Music & Arts
Science
Overall

I highly recommend this school. I have two children in Secondary and we couldn´t be happier. Having read a recent review posted, I have to say I agree with everything it says...and more! The new principal, appointed in February, has already set into motion several new initiatives, both academic and extra-curricular, giving the school a clear and focused direction. GCSE and IB pathways have been put in place to give secondary students guidance from an early age. The teachers are friendly, warm, and communicative with parents and pupils. It has a real family feel about it, where my children feel safe and confident. Sport has always been a strong point at this school, with many of the students playing for regional and national teams, and it continues to be an inspiring part of BCG pupils´ lives within school, as many fixtures were organised against other schools in the region this year. Music has really taken off this year with my children participating in orchestra, instrumental lessons, musical theatre, choir, and rock band. They have loved being able to hang out with other kids with similar interests. The online teaching that has been happening since March is excellent, and second to none in the area. As a parent I have been extremely happy with the way in which the teachers have been so dedicated and inventive in their teaching. The food is excellent and both lunch and morning and afternoon snacks are included in the tuition fees. There is a school bus with an excellent service from Sitges/Sant Pere de Ribes to Barcelona. The grounds are green, adventurous and beautiful and the children have plenty of space and facilities to play football, basketball, volleyball, ping pong and more in their break times. The new building is state of the art, with bright, large spaces, a library, dining hall, auditorium and incredible sports hall. I only wish they had been able to move in sooner as the children are all very excited! In conclusion, this is an excellent, family-oriented, medium-sized school option that encourages children to pursue whatever they´re good at, but also to explore the unknown in a safe and friendly environment. Highly recommended.

Rae, 22/05/2020 @ 17:09:53
Relationship   Parent

Facilities
Academics
Teachers
Sports
Music & Arts
Science
Overall

My children were nervous about leaving the French school system and starting at BCG but they have settled in very well, made good friends and enjoy their classes - even on-line! The school has a beautiful new building with excellent facilities that my kids are itching to use! My son in Year 9 received helpful guidelines when choosing his GCSE options and the school is on its way to offering the IB Diploma Programme. All in all an excellent experience so far!

Iain Foreman, 22/05/2020 @ 12:37:28
Relationship   Parent

Facilities
Academics
Teachers
Sports
Music & Arts
Science
Overall

Times are very exciting at the BCG with a visionary and inspiring new leader on board and an excellent team of dynamic, energetic and experienced staff. The new building and top notch facilities give the school a fresh, modern appeal while still maintaining a family ethos and strong sense of community. Music and the Performing Arts are now centre stage with the school maintaining its high profile in sports thanks to an outstanding multi-use pavilion and gym. Full of green space, this is a school that is genuinely committed to the environment, the ecology, and is developing strong links to exciting and innovative local projects promoting sustainability. Thanks to the new appointments, academic standards are very high and as the school moves towards IB accreditation exciting new pathways have been developed to ensure that each pupil fulfils their potential. In short, the BCG is an internationally-minded, 21st century school full of exciting vision and friendly, welcoming smiles.

Beatriz, 26/05/2020 @ 18:47:28
Relationship   Parent

Facilities
Academics
Teachers
Sports
Music & Arts
Science
Overall

Tengo 2 niños de 5 y 6 años. Desde el inicio empezaron aquí el colegio y a día de hoy estoy muy contenta. Se trata de un cole pequeño ( en número de alumnos) y muy familiar. Nos conocemos todos y hasta la persona que se encarga del cuidado de las instalaciones, conoce los nombres de todos y cada uno de los niños. Las clases tienen pocos alumnos , y aunque al principio veía que era una desventaja, pues veo que sobre todo en cursos pequeños, el tener una ratio tan baja, hace que la enseñanza pueda ser más personalizada y cuidada. El nuevo edificio está por estrenar y será un punto más a favor del cole en cuanto a instalaciones y mejoras. Pero además, el colegio sigue estando en un entorno con mucho espacio verde y al aire libre. Mis hijos tienen leves necesidades educativas especiales , que dentro de no ser graves, requieren que estén muy encima de ellos y así está siendo. Están pendientes de ellos, de sus problemas y tratan de sacar los mejor de ellos en cada momento sin presión, pero sin relajación. Sobre el profesorado, hasta ahora creo que he tenido mucha suerte pero supongo que dependerá de cada niño y del feeling que tenga con cada profesor. Aún quedan cosas por rodar, propias de un cole semi nuevo pero sin duda, me compensan las cosas positivas sobre las pocas negativas. Algo importante a destacar es que al ser cole pequeño, los padres son escuchados y el colegio siempre está dispuesto a escuchar y hacer mejoras. Sobre el alumnado y profesorado, hay rotación porque en los coles internacionales unos van y otros vienen , pero esto es algo con lo que ya contábamos.

Celia Martín , 09/02/2021 @ 09:27:53
Relationship   Parent

Facilities
Academics
Teachers
Sports
Music & Arts
Science
Overall

Pérdida de dinero para mi y de nivel educativo para mi hija. Si quieres que tu hijo vaya solo a jugar y a divertirse, éste es su colegio. Si te importa su educación, quieres que adquiera valores, aprenda buen inglés y tenga un nivel aceptable en todas las asignaturas...éste no es el lugar. El problema es que para comprobar todo esto, antes tienes que pasar por caja y son 2900€ (matrícula) de riesgo. Mi hija ha perdido 1 año escolar en éste centro y NO se lo recomiendo a nadie. Es un centro nuevo y sólo quieren rellenar aulas y engordar la cuenta bancaria, NO les interesa si los alumnos aprenden o no. No hay comunicación fluida con los padres, las profesoras se limitan a pasarle mensajes a las madres encargadas de los grupos de WhatsApp y para enterarte de lo que pasa en la clase de tu hijo tienes que estar consultando el grupo a diario. Nunca he visto algo así. Por suerte reaccioné a tiempo, la cambié de colegio y en el británico que está ahora sí que se preocupan por su aprendizaje, la han puesto en un curso superior (como corresponde a su edad y nivel) y cuenta con refuerzo cuando lo necesita. Tienen una profesora de apoyo, cosa que en éste no tenían. Espero haber servido de ayuda.

Deborah Trench, 20/11/2020 @ 11:46:33
Relationship   Parent

Facilities
Academics
Teachers
Sports
Music & Arts
Science
Overall

We are a British family that took our two children out of BCG in 2019. I can now look back at BCG with a level head and compare it to a British school in England. Attending BCG was a distressing and frustrating experience. By the time we left we were on headmaster number 3, who informed us all that the standard within the whole school was behind the national curriculum and in short, the school was a chaotic mess and he was there to sort it all out. Sadly, this headmaster was another total fail that turned out to be a bully and created an extremely toxic environment. We finally pulled out of the school in summer of 2019 when we found out the headmaster number 3 had been sacked (but not to worry as a replacement was a temporary measure until they found someone permanent!) and 31 teachers had either left or been sacked. It was the last straw. We had finally had enough of BCG! My children were happy in BCG and the greener environment rivals any school nearby, there were also some lovely children and families at the school. However the school totally lacked good leadership and experience. Unfortunately it is a business and too much emphasis has been put on the business rather than how to educate. There are few British families within the school, because the Brits know what the British education system should look like. Unfortunately speaking English and wearing a nice uniform is not enough to constitute a ¨good school". Parents that don’t know the system or do not speak English can be easily duped. We are now back in England and when our sons went into their local/public (not private) schools they were behind in every subject. The teachers could not believe we had been educating them ¨privately¨. I also realised how much more the schools in the UK offer in terms of drama, music, sport, current affairs, green topics, politics and personal development. It really made me open my eyes to just how substandard BCG was and how it did not offer an all round education. Moving them out of the school, especially for secondary was the best thing I could have done. Every year BCG states it has made mistakes and it needs to improve, but in the meanwhile it is your money and your children’s education that is suffering, due to their incompetence. Perhaps the school will change in years to come, it has potential to be wonderful if they can manage good leadership and maintain good staff. But so far, since 2015, there has been many changes in leadership and staff and blunder after blunder. I know international schools can have higher turnovers but would be fascinated to know exactly how many pupils and staff have left since 2015 - I think statistics would be astounding! My advice is to be careful of only looking at the aesthetics, being drawn in by their great marketing ploys and how they sell the school to you - they are good at that part! Go in with your eyes wide open and compare to other schools. Do your homework and learn about the British system. Think what is important to you and your family. Then make an educated decision.

Reviews from Google

Recent reviews posted on Google.

Google logoRating: 

nacho kass, 4 months ago


"Where British Tradition meets Innovation" - Education In Excellence

Google logoRating: 

Gabriel Bellido Fernández-Montes, 2 months ago


Pues a mi me parece un colegio fantástico, he visto personalmente las instalaciones, no se trata de un colegio al uso en el que toda la parcela está edificada, sino un colegio con zonas abiertas y deportivas, están edificando una nueva área y me parece un colegio espectacular.

My Shortlist